Media Contact:

 

Poh Lin Khoo
651-793-1828

 

 

MnSCU News

  • Apply for Admission
  • Explore Programs and Courses
  • Pathway to Student Services
  • Resources and Library Services
  • Alumni, Friends, and Community

2014 - Metropolitan State in the News

Wednesday, December 17�Kristi Waite Retiring as Rasmussen College President�Fox42 News

Friday, December 12�Theater grant helped St. Paul 'naughty kid' explore his identity on stage�TwinCities.com

Monday, December 8�Sisterhood Is Powerful: Young Somali Women Find Experience, Community In Startup Boutique�Twin Cites Business

Monday, December 1�Dayton�s Bluff library celebrates 10 years�Lillie News

Monday, December 1�Tim Leslie preps to lead Dakota County Sheriff�s Office�Lillie News

Wednesday, November 19�St. Paul OKs East Side application for federal 'promise zone' designation�TwinCities.com

Thursday, November 13�Metro State profs pass last no-confidence vote�MPR News

Wednesday, November 12�Moorhead faculty issue no-confidence vote�Mankato Free Press

Monday, November 10�Metro State students join revolt against MnSCU chancellor�StarTribune

Monday, November 10�Metro State students: No confidence in chancellor�Southwestern Minnesota's Daily Newspaper

Monday, November 10�Rosenstone's growing crisis, Part II�examiner.com

Monday, November 10�Metro State Students: No Confidence in Chancellor�AM1240-WJON

Monday, November 10�Rosenstone's growing crisis �examiner.com

Monday, November 10�Faculty revolt against chancellor spreads to Metro State U students�StarTribune

Monday, November 10�Three candidates vie for Waseca city manager position�Waseca County News

Monday, November 10�MnSCU chief gets Metro State student 'no confidence' vote�TwinCities.com

Monday, November 10�Metro State students: No confidence in chancellor�MPR News

Saturday, November 8�In face of faculty revolt, MnSCU chancellor stays the course�StarTribune

Friday, November 7�Beacon Bank promotes Klaith�Eden Prairie News

Friday, November 7�MnSCU, faculty to go to mediation to resolve dispute over system's future�Prairie Business

Thursday, November 6�OPINION | Swede Hollow Park � commuter rail?�Twin Cities Daily Planet

Tuesday, November 4�New Ramsey police chief is a techie, but also a people person�StarTribune

Tuesday, November 4�5 More Questions: Doug Rossinow on our era's intense partisanship�MinnPost

Monday, November 3�Volunteer(s) of the Month: Winona residents connect with at-risk kids through Restorative Justice�WinonaDailyNews.com

Sunday, November 2�Pipelines are a concern: Safety record doesn�t jibe with claims�Duluth News Tribune

Thursday, October 30�Welcome the newest reporter, Brielle Bredsten�Mille Lacs County Times

Wednesday, October 29�Brown to enter college basketball hall of fame�Williston Herald

Wednesday, October 29�Get a grip on your health�West Central Tribune

Tuesday, October 28�Ramsey Council taps Jeff Katers as next police chief�ABC Newspapers

Monday, October 27�Lone home stands surrounded by construction�LillieNews.com

Sunday, October 19�Metro State breaks ground on new science center�East Side Review

Wednesday, October 15�Perhaps the verdict on Obama is not yet in�Star Tribune

Tuesday, October 14�2 profs push to reopen Metro State greenhouse�St. Paul Pioneer Press

Wednesday, October 8�Denmark Township: 1 board member challenged, 2 others unopposed �TwinCities.com

Wednesday, October 8�Poverty simulation event hosted by Metropolitan State nursing school �InsightNews.com

Tuesday, October 7�Metro State to break ground on science center Friday �TwinCities.com

Tuesday, October 7�ISIS: The street gang on steroids �CNN

Monday, October 6�Funding for K-12 education and better salaries for teachers �BiS

Friday, October 3�Obituary: Textile artist Nancy MacKenzie produced one-of-a-kind pieces �StarTribune

Monday, September 29�First Lutheran breakfast evolves into mainstay �TwinCities.com

Monday, September 29�Mr Guru �TermPaper Warehouse

Monday, September 29�Co-op construction will begin in early October �LillieNews.com

Saturday, September 27�Minnesotans Show How to Create �Dementia-Friendly� Communities �New America Media

Saturday, September 27�MPD chief a no-show at community forum on police violence �MSR News Online

Tuesday, September 23�Roseville part of study on creating �dementia-friendly� communities �Park Bugle

Tuesday, September 23�In With the New Assessment �edtechdigest

Monday, September 22�2014 Top 40 Under 40: James L. Franklin �MassTransit

Monday, September 22�Seeking Atypical Role Models �Huff Post: The Blog

Sunday, September 21�Biz Buzz for Sept. 22, 2014 �Duluth News Tribune

Sunday, September 21�MN: Strong Job Growth Projected Along Gateway Transit Route �MassTransit

Friday, September 19�Strong job growth projected along Gateway transit route �StarTribune

Friday, September 19�Counterpoint: Editorial ignored student debt woes �StarTribune

Friday, September 19�Brooke Geiselman joins Essentia Health clinics �HowtownFocus.US

Thursday, September 18�Wichman-Prokes �The New Prague Times

Thursday, September 18�Gender Reel film fest comes to the U �Minnesota Daily

Thursday, September 11�Jerry Cotton Memorial Golf Tournament �Hastings Star Gazette

Friday, September 12�Treating Black men means healing Black women �MSR News

Friday, September 12�Minnesota's state colleges consider tuition freeze, funding request �StarTribune

Thursday, September 11� Maple Grove officer receives scholarship�Press & News

Wednesday, September 10�Eagan woman selected Metropolitan State University outstanding student �InsightNews.com

Sunday, September 7�Chief of the National Guard Bureau: Who Is Frank Grass? �AllGov

Friday, August 29�Report: Twin Cities ranks high internationally as destination for foreign students �Business Journal

Monday, August 25�Metro State gets grant to do 100 paid internships �LillieNews.com

Monday, August 25�We've Come to the End of the Road, the Final Homestand at Midway Stadium August 26-28 �Our Sports Central

Friday, August 22�Ferguson crisis offers lessons for other police departments �TwinCities.com

Friday, August 22�Gov. Mark Dayton names six to MnSCU board of trustees �TwinCities.com

Thursday, August 21�'Reading Buddies" program connects Twin Cities college and charter students �MinnesotaMonthly.com

Thursday, August 21�Frogtown's half-mile long banquet to spur food talk �MPRNews.org

Wednesday, August 20�Ferguson protests lure many from across the U.S. �LATimes.com

Wednesday, August 20�Barbara Curchack presenting on community garden at State Fair �Inverhills.edu

Tuesday, August 19�Mixed media: The faculty show at Gordon Parks Gallery �InsightNews.com

Friday, August 15�A look at modern masculinity in America �MPRNews.org

Tuesday, August 12�GNP CEO Helgeson announces retirement �Bloomberg Business Week

Monday, August 11�With narrow work force focus, MnSCU has lost its way �Minnpost.com

Monday, August 11�Growing a film company in Southern Minnesota �SouthernMinnScene.com

Friday, August 8�Fairview Range welcomes Lisa Knapp, NP �HometownFOCUS.us

Thursday, August 7�EnergyPrint Hires Ben Herkenhoff as Development Team Lead �PRWeb

Wednesday, August 6�Faith Group creates new position and announces new hire in Minneapolis �St. Louis Post-Dispatch

Tuesday, August 5�Metro State parking ramp delayed by soil cleanup �TwinCities.com

Friday, August 1�Governor Dayton Appoints Diane B. Bratvold, Hilary Lindell Caligiuri, William J. Fisher, and Juan G. Hoyos to Fill Fourth Judicial District Vacancies �Office of Governor Mark Dayton

Wednesday, July 30�Anoka-Ramsey Cambridge Campus offers nursing and health career fair �Isanti County News

Monday, July 28�Quick studies �Minnesota Business

Monday, July 21�Radio host, civic leader Andy Driscoll dies at age 74 �insurancenewsnet.com

Friday, July 18�Aspiring educator shares penny-pinching tips �MSR News

Wednesday, July 16�The indelible stain of juvenile prisons �Star Tribune

Saturday, July 5�Metropolitan State University looks to fresh start with new president �TwinCities.com

Thursday, July 3�Adjunct faculty issues discussion on Truth to Tell �TruthtoTell.org

Wednesday, June 25�Imagination to action: Building commons movement from the ground up �Resilience.org

Tuesday, June 24�Meet your BC City Council and State Representative candidates �Sun Post

Tuesday, June 24�Metro State can go back to its rule-breaking roots �StarTribune.com

Saturday, June 21�Ruben Rosario: Minnesota man's recovery at 13,000 feet �TwinCities.com

Wednesday, June 18�Minnesota: Straighten up, MnSCU board: Pioneer Press editorial �TwinCities.com

Tuesday, June 17�Minneapolis Urban League Honors Dr. Reatha Clark King �CBS News

Tuesday, June 17�Metro State honors students�InsightNews.com

Monday, June 16�MnSCU boss gets new contract � last year�Grand Forks Herald

Monday, June 16�MnSCU announces it reached new deal with chancellor -- 8 months ago �TwinCities.com

Thursday, June 12�Reatha Clark King to receive MUL Trailblazer Award�InsightNews.com

Tuesday, June 10�MnSCU trustee to chairman: Don�t speak for me �Minnesota Public Radio: On Campus

Tuesday, June 10�Creative Collaboration benefits students at two East Side institutions �LillieNews.com

Monday, June 9�Faculty union: MnSCU chancellor has hurt morale �Minnesota Public Radio

Monday, June 9�Union review: MnSCU chancellor has hurt faculty morale �Star Tribune

Monday, June 9�Faculty feud with MnSCU chancellor heats up �TwinCities.com

Friday, June 6�Josie Smith - Traffic Reporter �5 Eyewitness News

Thursday, June 5�Jeanne Grant, North St. Paul receives Excellence in Teaching Award �LillieNews.com

Wednesday, June 3�New Fusion program addresses shortage of tech workers �The Line

Sunday, June 1�Obituary: N. Judge King: Chemist, philanthropist �Star Tribune

Sunday, June 1�MEDA Entrepreneur of the Year reboots tech company �Star Tribune

Friday, May 30�Starion Financial hires Fischer, Richter �Prairie Business

Thursday, May 29�Continuing to serve others in retirement �Press & News

Thursday, May 29�Game-based courses at Rasmussen College can slash cost of degree �Star Tribune

Sunday, May 25�Small business: Media buying agency launches makeover �Star Tribune

Friday, May 23�Jason Sole: From Prison to PhD - A Success Story of Overcoming Drugs and Gang Li�blogtalkradio/The Iron Jen Show

Wednesday, May 21�Otto Bremer Foundation Sets a Record for the Largest Scholarship Gift for Colleges in MnSCU History �MnScu

Wednesday, May 14�$1 billion in state building projects nears final OK �Star Tribune

Monday, May 12�It�s shovels and dirt for Metro State parking ramp �LillieNews.com

Friday, May 9�Theresa M. Neo to Fill Sixth Judicial District Vacancies �Office of Governor Mark Dayton

Friday, May 9�Next up: Extend transit to Woodbury �Star Tribune

Wednesday, May 7�St. Paul's major construction projects near completion �TwinCities.com

Wednesday, May 7�ARTS & ACADEMICS: TCU Gay Straight Alliance �Le Center Leader

Wednesday, May 7�St. Paul's major construction projects near completion �TwinCities.com

Wednesday, May 7�Senate Bonding Bill Invests $35.815 Million in East St. Paul�Minnesota Senate

Tuesday, May 6�Dental therapists aim to fill in oral health shortfalls �USA Today

Tuesday, May 6�Moving up the ladder at City Hall �SunPost

Friday, May 2�East Side Radio holds first community meeting �Twin Cities Daily Planet

Wednesday, April 30�Page hires new City Manager �Lake Powell Chronicle

Saturday, April 26�Rep. Kline to host career and jobs fair May 12 at Eagan Community Center �HometownSource.com

Tuesday, April 22�Riverland hopes open house will be 'one-stop shop' for future students �Owatonna People's Press

Monday, April 21�Dayton's Bluff is blooming, as new buildings, businesses rise �TwinCities.com

Wednesday, April 16�Rindfleisch selected as next village administrator �The McFarland Thistle

Tuesday, April 15�College students say changes needed in Minnesota's credit-transfer process �Prairie Business

Saturday, April 12�Convey Compliance benefits from growing IRS reporting requirements�Bloomberg Businessweek

Tuesday, April 8�Minnesota PRSA Honors Jim Lukaszewski with Donald G. Padilla Distinguished Practitioner Award�Las Vegas Review Journal

Wednesday, April 2�Karen students graduate from Metropolitan State University �InsightNews.com

Tuesday, April 1�Film screening: "The Abolitionists" �InsightNews.com

Monday, March 31�Adjunct professors say they've become the 'temp workers' of college classrooms �StarTribune

Wednesday, March 26�House bonding bill advances higher ed projects �Politics in Minnesota

Tuesday, March 25�Metropolitan State online classes help Granite Falls Hospital add WOC care �Granitefallsnews.com

Friday, March 21�Metro State garage, student center OK'd by St. Paul Planning Commission �TwinCities.com

Wednesday, March 19�Learn about the history of immigration to St. Paul �Twin Cities Daily Planet

Wednesday, March 19�Gichana elected president of Mwanyagetinge �Mshale

Tuesday, March 18�Metropolitan State University going smoke and tobacco free �InsightNews.com

Tuesday, March 18�Gateway Corridor Commission: 3 Scoping Meetings and more...�Gateway Corridor Newsletter

Tuesday, March 18�New chapter for St. Paul's historic Arlington Hills Branch Library �StarTribune /east metro

Friday, March 14�Community faculty Kenneth Blumenfeld interviewed about changing Minnesota winters �Minnesota 20/20 Blog

Friday, March 14�Metropolitan State drops hammer on smoking on campus �Pioneer Press

Monday, March 10�Groceries on the East Side of St. Paul: Who's there, who's coming �Twin Cities Daily Planet

Monday, March 10�Minnesota to the Horn of Africa: Connections to the Past & Future�Truth to Tell

Saturday, March 8�Ridgewater partner in the new 4-year RN program�Hutchison Leader

Friday, March 7�Mass murder at Kunming train station: propaganda by deed �MinnPost

Wednesday, March 5�Monte Bute: A favored professor's favorite books �Twincities.com

Tuesday, March 4�Safe And Supportive School Act Supporters Rally At State Capitol �Red Rock Radio Corporation

Tuesday, March 4�Reformed Convict Shares Life Lesson �ABC 6 News Now

Tuesday, March 4�U of M, MnSCU officials make pitch for facilities money �MPR News

Sunday, Feb. 16�Counterpoint: Ranked-choice voting does work �StarTribune commentaries

Tuesday, Jan. 28 �Tradition, Schism, and Continuity in Minnesota�s Communities of Faith �MNOpedia

Thursday, Jan. 23 �Two interim presidents named for MnSCU system�MinnPost

Thursday, Jan. 23 �St. Cloud State Provost Devinder Malhotra named interim president�Star Tribune--St. Cloud Times

Thursday, Jan. 23 �Winter Carnival kicks off�The St. Paul Voice

Wednesday, Jan. 22 �MnScu, Metro State grapple with demand for four-year degrees�MPR News

Wednesday, Jan. 15�Governor Mark Dayton releases bonding proposal�Minnesota.gov

Wednesday, Jan. 15�Matthew Filner, social sciences assistant professor, "MnSCU's New Plan: Charting Whose Future"�Minnesota 20/20

Thursday, Jan. 2�Experts, including Bruce Lindberg, Advance IT Minnesota executive director, discuss the increasing need for data analytics workers�Twin Cities Business

2013 - Metropolita State in the News

Friday, Dec. 13�V. Marcia Pruitt, individualized studies graduate, discusses the PhD Project in Twin Cities Daily Planet�Twin Cities Daily Planet

Thursday, Dec. 12�"Metro State safety chief recounts obstacle to prosecution"�MPR News On Campus Blog

Wednesday, Dec. 11�"University faculty union wants a say in MnSCU overhaul"�MPR News On Campus Blog

Saturday, Nov. 30�Associate Professor Monte Bute, social science, response to Star Tribune editorial�StarTribune letters

Monday, Nov. 25�Further perspectives on MnSCU's "Charting the Future for a Prosperous Minnesota"�Chancellor Rosenstone on The Daily CircuitStarTribune editorial on IFO positionSt. Cloud State President Potter on MPR

Thursday, Nov. 21�Faculty, student representative and administration perspectives on "Charting the Future for a Prosperous Minnesota"�MPR NewsStarTribunePioneer Press

Wednesday, Nov. 20�Minnesota State Colleges and Universities release "Charting the Future for a Prosperous Minnesota"�MnSCU System News

Friday, Nov. 8�Mohammad Zafar, financial aid outreach specialist, featured on Minnesota Almanac (segment begins around 31:40)�Minnesota Almanac

Tuesday, Nov. 5�After Anoka County Library balks, St. Paul Library invites author to speak�StarTribuneupdated

Friday, Nov. 1 �As many seek to put a face on addiction and recovery, anonymity gets a second look�MinnPost

Friday, Nov. 1�Metro State reaches deal with city and neighbors over parking garage, student center� Twincities.com

Thursday, Oct. 31�Rowell Receives a 'Minnesota Nice' Welcome in St. Paul�Publishers Weekly

Thursday, Oct. 30�Creative Writing Associate in Fine Arts Degree now offered at Anoka-Ramsey Community College�Isanti County News

Friday, Oct. 25�Dakota County beat: Minnesota colleges' plant orchard for Newtown, Conn.�StarTribune

Thursday, Oct. 24�Ranked-choice voting meets a crowded field in Minneapolis�MPRnews

Tuesday, Oct. 22 �Workforce Center to host open house�StarTribune

Tuesday, Oct. 22�Gen. Grass returns to Minnesota to sit down with state leaders and visit alma mater�Minnesota National Guard

Thursday, Oct. 10�Normandale expands academic partnerships�SunCurrent (Bloomington)

Wednesday, Oct. 9�Metro State University president to retire in 2014� MPR News

Wednesday, Oct. 9�Metro State U president to step down�StarTribune

Wednesday, Oct. 9�Metro State president announces retirement�TwinCites.com

Monday, Oct. 7�Three Years Later, Institute of Medicine Report is Fueling Innovations in Nursing Practice and Education�Robert Wood Johnson Foundation

Friday, Oct. 4�Why Minnesota DFLers failed the gun-violence test�MinnPost

Tuesday, Oct. 1�Professors Nancy Black and Monte Bute featured in�StarTribune and Minnesota Public Radio 

Friday, Sept. 20�Professor August Hoffman on WCCO Radio�WCCO Radio

Friday, Sept. 20�Monte Bute op-ed in Saint Paul Pioneer Press "The firmament works in mysterious ways" �Saint Paul Pioneer Press



Brooklyn Park - Law Enforcement and Criminal Justice Education Center Minneapolis Campus Midway Center Saint Paul Campus Saint Paul Campus